Ummm....Sis, I love the thought. But I have no idea how to use a blog. I can´t figure out how to post anything on there.
I have no idea all I wrote the other night. I was rushed and didn´t have a to many Bs ( bolivianos), to spend on the computer. Oh I have enough money. but the smaller businesses can´t make change for much over 20 Bs.
We went to the chaco yesterday with the futbol team and had a great time doing rope courses with them and cleaning the pond some more.
The rope courses should be something that Dellwater does! One that I loved was this: Your team has to swing from a log onto a platform that is about 5x5 foot. The first trouble is grabing the rope because you can´t cross a line. The next step it you have to swing across the rope one by one onto that platform. It was so much fun! We fit 27 people onto that tiny platform! We have pictures so you can all laugh later.
This morning we had church. I loved it. A lot of the songs we sang I knew in English and somebody was kind enough to print out a sheet with the words to the songs in Spanish so we could follow along. We sang songs like ¨Lord I lift your Name on High¨, Öpen the Eyes of My Heart¨.
The culture in Bolivia is rather interesting. One thing that they did in church today was they had all the short term groups go and stand up front and then had the WHOLE church line up and greet us. All good and fun, no? Well it was, but the reason I mention culture is because of how Bolivians greet each other. A typical Bolivian greeting to a lady is to shake her hand and then kiss her on the cheek and the lady does likewise to whoever is greeting to her. I must have kissed over a hundred people today! If I had any shyness before then, it´s gone now.
Now Í´m wasting my free time on the internet talking to you guys. Tonight we are going to go to church members houses for supper tonight, then after that we are going to go to the Plaza and have a night on the town and go for ice cream. Apparently Sunday nights is when the Plaza gets really busy. Sounds fun.
Tomorrow we are going to have the oppurtunity to go to a Festival in a little town far away. Lucho wanted to give us an opportunity to see some of the more historical parts of Bolivia and apparently this festival is a good way to do it.
Oh yes. I must mention this. Motos (motorcycles), are the main form of transportation here. You can hail a taxi moto from about anywhere and he will take you where ever you want to go for 3 Bs. All great fun! Except as a girl, your expected to ride side-saddle on the moto unless you want the moto driver to think your hitting on him. So I now can ride on the back of a moto at high speeds across all sorts of bumps, side saddle. I will comment that I don´t mind it, but don´t love it either. There are no posted speed limits here and speed bumps take on a whole new meaning when you can´t grip with you knees. ::ninja smiley::
I have got to tell you about the driving here in Bolivia sometime, but right now I´m off to check my email. Love you all!
Alicia
Sunday, July 29, 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment